Chateau De SalellesChateau De Salelles
©Chateau De Salelles|ABC Salles

Château de Salelles

A stone's throw from the banks of the Lot

Discover Château de Salelles, in the commune of Banassac-Canilhac. First mentioned as a “villa” or large rural estate in the very early 11th century, Château des Salelles was not cited as such until 1524, as the property of Antoine Bompars. The residence was probably enlarged in the late 17th or early 18th centuries.

All about

Château de Salelles

Château de Salelles suffered during the Wars of Religion: in 1585, Huguenots occupied it, while Catholics attempted to retake it. In 1642, Jean de Jurquet became its owner. At the end of the 18th century, the château became the property of the Isarn de Freissinet Valady family, who also owned Château de Saint-Saturnin. Louis Philippe d’Isarn de Freissinet, chevalier du compte de Valady, then married Jeanne Brigitte de Jurquet de Montjézieu, daughter of the Vicomte de Grèzes, Seigneurs des Salelles and de La Canourgue. In 1792, the Isarn de Freissinet family sold the château to Jean-Joseph Boudon de la Roquette. In 1808, Louise Boudon de la Roquette married Pierre Barthélémy Joseph de Nogaret. A few years later, the de Nogaret family sold the château to nuns, while the land was sold to the Valentin family.

Castle architecture

The west wing, with its round corner tower, appears to date from the 17th century. The east wing dates from the 18th century, as does the building joining the two wings. At the entrance, a dovecote tower dominates the portal with its broken pediment featuring a coat of arms. The coat of arms depicts a cross entwined with a snake, flanked by fleurs-de-lis and crowned by a crown.

All about the castle

des Salelles

in the Lot Valley

Discover also ...